The 4th Annual Tatiana’s Ball in Washington D.C.

0
98

 

It is the end of December, and as the year draws to a close, the time has come to reminisce about everything that has happened in 2017. I would like to tell the readers about a wonderful event that took place at the beginning of this year, but is still well remembered. The 3rd Annual Tatiana’s Ball occurred on January 27th at the Russian Embassy in Washington D.C.

The Tatiana’s Ball is not a simple entertainment opportunity: all the funds raised by the Ball go to various charities. This year the money was donated to the Fair Aid Charity which was established by Dr. Elizaveta Glinka, to Donetsk and to sick children in D.C.

This Ball is dedicated to Saint Tatiana, the patron saint of Russian students, who is celebrated on January 25th. Also, the Ball is held in memory of the late Princess Seline (Evdokiya) Obolenskaya, who dedicated 40 years of her life to supporting and developing Russian culture in the Washington D.C. area. Finally, the Ball is also dedicated to the image of poet Aleksandr Pushkin’s heroine- Tatiana Larina- the ideal Russian young lady and woman.

This year, this image was brought to life by eight young debutantes, who were award red sashes by the Russian Ambassador Sergei Kislyak. I was one of the debutantes of 2017 and the memories from the Ball will stay with me forever.

The debutantes are a tradition that had existed in Russia, and throughout the entire world for many years. It is a young lady’s entrance or “debut” into society, after which they could take part in high social life and philanthropic activities. With the help and support of the organizers of the Tatiana’s Ball- Ksenia Woyevodsky, Ekaterina Kariman and Natalia Sammons, this tradition was resurrected at the Tatiana’s Ball too.

I was one of the eight young ladies selected to be debutantes because of our contributions to the support and development of Russian culture in America. Some of us are troop leaders in Russian scouts, others actively help in various church activities and sing in the choir, while yet others dance in the Russian ensemble “Matreshki”.

The “Matreshki” dance ensemble was established by the parishioners of St. John the Baptist’s Cathedral nearly six years ago. Originally, our ensemble performed only Russian and Ukrainian national dances, but thanks to our choreographer, Olga Rines, we have expanded our repertoire to include various ballroom dances, too- such as the polonaise and the waltz. We first opened the Tatiana’s Ball with our polonaise in 2016 and now it has become a tradition- we will open the Ball with our polonaise in 2018, too.

This past year the debutante ceremony was the first “act” of the Ball. We were all slightly nervous, but for me the feeling of awe was stronger. For about half an hour, I was taken back in time to the 19th century, to the court of the Russian Tsar, and my nervousness disappeared. I felt as if a thin thread had stretched from our Ball back into the past, which was almost destroyed by the Bolsheviks, but survived because of the Russian immigrants, who carefully preserved their culture. I suddenly felt the sense of honor and dignity, the ceremonialism, the unbreakable faith in God and love for the Motherland which breathes in the memoirs of White officers and in the letters of the last Tsar and his Tsarina.

I realized the importance of preserving our Russian traditions, language, culture and faith. The Ball, which had previously been just a fun «night-out», acquired a new depth of meaning for me.

At the next Tatiana’s Ball in 2018, the debutante tradition will be continued. This time there will be young ladies not only from Washington D.C. but also from New York. The 4th Annual Tatiana’s Ball will take place on Friday, January 26th and this year we would like to invite to Russian youth from all over the US to our Ball!

This year we will host a Tatiana’s Ball Weekend- three days full of fun in Washington D.C. We will enjoy the Ball, and spend the next two days exploring D.C.

All the guests from out of town will arrive either Thursday evening or Friay morning and will be hosted at the church house of St. John the Baptist’s Cathedral. Our Cathedral is located close to the center of D.C., and close to the Russian Embassy.

The first day of the Weekend will be Friday, January 26th and it will be filled with preparations for the Ball and then Tatiana’s Ball itself. On the second day, Saturday, the Russian youth from D.C. will meet up with our guests from California and New York and we will spend the day in D.C.

In the center of D.C. there is a large expanse called the National Mall, which is surrounded by many museums and monuments. Thus, it is quite easy to visit all of the major landmarks in less than a day. Furthermore, nearly all the museums have free admission!

D.C. is sometimes called a «garden-city». It is a fascinating combination of wide city streets, narrow cobblestone alleys, old and solemn buildings and modern stores, restaraunts and a variety of museums- ranging from the newly opened Museum of the Bible to the Museum of African American Culture and the Museum of Natural History.

One museum which is a «must» is the National Gallery of Art. This museum houses priceless paintings and statues. This Gallery has many permanent and temporary exhibits that show a variety of art movements.

The Washington Monument is located at the center of the National Mall, while the Lincoln and Jefferson Monuments are a few minutes walk away. You can also stroll along the Potomac River at the Tidal Basin which is filled with delicated cherry trees, given to the US by Japan as a symbol of friendship.

After visiting the museums and monuments we will have lunch in one of the many restaraunts that border the Mall. And in the evening we will enjoy iceskating at the rink located in the Sculpture Garden next to the Gallery of Art.

Sunday will be the last day of our Weekend. In the morning we will attend liturgy at the St. John the Baptist’s Cathedral and lunch, following the service. After lunch the guests can start heading home, carrying with them wonderful memories, and many new friendships!

Once again, finishing my tale, I would like to invite all the Russian youth from California and New York to our Tatiana’s Ball!

By Yaroslava Kuzina and Katerina Forrest

Четвёртый ежегодный Татьянин бал в Вашингтоне

0
86

Конец декабря, год подходит к концу. Пришло время вспомнить и осмыслить всё, что произошло. Расскажем читателям об одном замечательном мероприятии, которое произошло в самом начале этого года, но до сих пор не забылось, да и вряд ли скоро забудется. Третий ежегодный Татьянин бал прошёл 27 января 2017 года в Посольстве Российской Федерации в Вашингтоне. И мы готовимся к четвёртому ежегодному балу 26 января 2018 года.

Татьянин бал не просто увеселительное мероприятие: все средства, полученные от бала, идут на благотворительность. В этом году деньги пошли в фонд покойной Доктора Лизы, в Донецк и на помощь больным детям в Вашингтоне.

Бал посвящается Святой Татьяне, покровительнице русских студентов, которая почитается 25 января. Также этот бал устраивается в память о покойной Княгине Селин (Евдокии) Оболенской, которая посвятила сорок лет работы развитию и процветанию русской культуры за рубежом, особенно в Вашингтоне. И наконец, этот бал посвящается образу пушкинской Татьяны Лариной — идеалу русской девушки и женщины.

В прошлом году этот образ воплотили в жизнь восемь девушек дебютанток, которым вручил красные ленты Посол РФ в Вашингтоне Сергей Иванович Кисляк. Я была одной из дебютанток 2017 года и впечатления от этого бала останутся со мной на всю жизнь.

Традиция дебютанток существовала и в России, и во всём мире много лет. Это традиция выхода юных девушек в свет: со своим выходом или «дебютом» девушки начинали принимать участие в светской жизни и в благотворительной деятельности. Благодаря организаторам бала Ксении Воеводской, Екатерине Кариман и Наталии Саммонс эта традиция была возрождена и в Вашингтоне на Татьянином балу.

В этом, 2017 году,  восьмерых дебютанток выбрали за поддержку и вклад в поддержку русской культуры в Америке. Некоторые участвовали в движении Русских скаутов, другие активно помогали в храме и пели в хоре, третьи танцевали в русском ансамбле «Матрёшки».

Ансамбль «Матрёшки» существует при Соборе Святого Иоанна Предтечи уже шестой год. Изначально, наш ансамбль был посвящён только русским и украинским народным танцам, но два года назад, хореограф Ольга Райнс поставила полонез и вальс. Этими танцами открывались Татьянин бал в 2016-м году, и они стали ежегодной традицией: в этом году снова бал открылся полонезом.

В  2017 году церемония дебютанток была первым «актом» Татьяниного бала. Все волновались, но для меня было сильнее чувство некой торжественности и глубокой значимости этого момента. Я на некоторое время как будто перенеслась в девятнадцатый век, во двор Русского императора, и волнение исчезло. Я почувствовала, как тоненькая нить протянулась от нашего бала обратно в прошлое, которое было почти погубленное большевиками, но всё же выжило благодаря русским иммигрантам, которые тщательно хранили свою культуру. Эта возвышенность духа, некая церемониальность, эта непоколебимая вера в Господа и любовь к своей Родине, которыми дышат в мемуары белых офицеров, и письма государя и государыни, чувствовалась в тот вечер, во время бала.

Для меня вдруг стало очевидно, как это важно сохранить наши русские традиции, язык, культуру и веру. То, что раньше казалось всего лишь весельем, теперь обрело более осмысленное значение.

В будущем 2018 году традиция дебютанток будет продолжена: будут девушки не только из Вашингтона, но и из Нью-Йорка. Четвёртый ежегодный Татьянин бал пройдёт в пятницу 26 января, и мы хотим пригласить на наш бал русскую молодёжь со всего США!

В 2018 году, кроме бала, будет устроен поход по значимым местам Вашингтона, гуляньем по Вашингтону и сближение русской молодёжи со всех уголков страны.

Все гости приедут в четверг вечером или в пятницу утром, они остановятся в церковном доме при Соборе Святого Иоанна Предтечи. Этот храм расположен почти в центре Вашингтона и недалеко от Российскогоо Посольства, где пройдёт Бал.

Первый день выходных пятница, 26 января, будет заполнена подготовкой к Балу и самим Балом. А на второй день, мы соберёмся — русская молодёжь из Вашингтона с приезжей молодёжью из Калифорнии и Нью-Йорка — и вместе пойдём гулять по Вашингтону.

В центре Вашингтона есть большое поле, называющееся Национальным молом: этот простор окружён многочисленными музеями и монументы. Так что за день можно запросто обойти все местные достопримечательные. Ещё один плюс заключается в том, что вход в почти все музеи бесплатен!

Вашингтон называют город-сад. Приехав сюда и пройдясь по широким улицам и мощеным улочкам столицы, вы почувствуете интересное сочетание старых, витиеватых и громоздящихся исторических зданий вместе с современными магазинами, ресторанами, и знаменитыми музеями: от Музея афроамериканской культуры до Музея естествознания и Музея Библии.

Один музей, который обязательно нужно посетить каждому приезжему, это Национальная галерея искусства. Здесь выставляют на показ бесценные жемчужины картины и статуи. Этот кладезь искусства славится с интригующими и уникальными экспонатами, которые постоянно обновляют, создавая динамичное движение выставок!

Вашингтонский монумент «карандаш» находится в одном конце просторного ровного поля, а в других углах его стоят Монументы Линкольна и Джефферсона. Так же можно пройтись вдоль реки Потомак, вокруг залива Тайдал Бэйсин. Здесь каждую весну распускаются деликатные и ветвистые вишневые деревца, подаренные Америке Японией в знак поддержания мира в отношениях и сотрудничества, а зимой можно любоваться спокойными волнами Потомака.

После прогулки по музеям и монументов, мы пообедаем в одном из многочисленных ресторанчиках, которые находятся рядом с Национальным молом. А вечером, мы покатаемся на катке, который находится среди сада скульптур знаменитых современных мастеров.

Воскресенье с утра мы все посетим литургию в Соборе Святого Иоанна Предтечи, а после литургии и обеда, гости смогут разъезжаться, увозя с собой замечательные воспоминания и много новых знакомств!

Хочется напоследок своего рассказа опять повторить приглашение: приезжайте на Бал!

Авторы: Ярослава Кузина и Катерина Форрест

Больше информации вы можете найти здесь:

www.tatianaball.com

Или обращайтесь ко Ксении Воеводской: KCEHIA@verizon.net, тел.  202-641-1984